Skip navigation
Back to navigation

Sixth Form Courses

Skip to sub-navigation

We offer courses in over 50 subject areas which are taught by well-qualified specialists within high quality, purpose built classrooms.

The dedicated and passionate teaching staff take the time to know who you are as a person and offer you fantastic support to achieve your potential
Carys (student)

Types of courses at Aquinas


A-Levels are two-year courses; the majority are 100% examined with exams at the end of the second year. In some subjects there is a small coursework component, please check the individual subject pages via the sixth form course directory.


Level 3 Vocational Courses

Vocational Courses have the same equivalence as A-Levels; eg both a Distinction * and A level A* are worth 56 UCAS points. They are assessed by a combination of exams, controlled assessment and coursework. These assessments take place throughout the two-year period of study; for the majority you will complete exams or controlled assessment, alongside coursework in both the first and second year. The results of these assessments count towards your final grade. Please check the individual assessment arrangements on the subject pages via the sixth form course directory.


Level 2 Courses

We only offer a limited number of GCSE and other level 2 courses. If you do not achieve a grade 4 or above in English and/or Maths, you will need to enrol on the appropriate GCSE course. This is to ensure your progression, either to Level 3 courses at Aquinas or to access other options, as many routes require you to have GCSE Maths and English plus three other grade 4 or equivalent passes. Level 2 courses are completed within a one year programme.